House Transportation Subcommittee Chairs Announced

U.S. Capitol and bicyclist. Image –, Chip Somodevilla, Getty Images

House Transportation Committee Chair Bill Shuster announced his Vice-Chair and the Subcommittee Chair assignments for this Congress. Ranking Democratic Member Nick Rahall is expected to confirm Subcommittee Chairs and Members by Wednesday.

Representative John Duncan, Jr. (Tennessee) will serve as vice chair. He chaired the Highways and Transit Subcommittee in the last Congress.  Below are the Subcommittee Chairs. Republican members of the Subcommittees will be revealed by Wednesday.

Aviation: Frank LoBiondo (New Jersey), who previously chaired the Coast Guard Subcommittee.

Highways and Transit: Tom Petri (Wisconsin), who has chaired this Subcommittee previously.

Railroads, Pipelines and Hazardous Materials: Jeff Denham (California), who has been a vocal opponent of the California High Speed Rail program and Amtrak in general.

Coast Guard & Maritime: Duncan Hunter (California).

Water Resources and Environment: Bob Gibbs (Ohio), who chaired the Subcommittee last year as a freshman.

Economic Development, Public Buildings and Emergency Management:  Lou Barletta (Pennsylvania) a sophomore.